Wedding Tales:Leftovers!

This is the last post in the wedding series. 5 posts for the 5 days I was away seems like a fair trade! Just had a few things I wanted to share, leftover from posts 1 through 4.

My voyage of discovery:

1. I can survive away from Ishaan (barely) for 5 whole days. He can survive away from me, quite happily however, for the same amount of time πŸ™‚

2. Reruns of ‘Charmed‘, a series I enjoyed, are showing on AXN @ 6 pm πŸ™‚ A fact I discovered in Hotel Elite in Tiruvalla!

3. Not every wedding is about garish bling, overdressing and an overt display of wealth! Some can still be tasteful and straight from the heart πŸ™‚

4. There’s nothing quite like steaming hot mutton biryani πŸ™‚

5. The jury is still out for train travel in India. For me travelling First Class is not a luxury, it’s a question of survival!

6. If a destination is well-connected by air, fly! When it’s not, hope for the best and prepare for the worst.

7. When buying sarees, less is more πŸ™‚ Also applicable when buying, eating, thinking food πŸ˜‰

8. Train travel is much pleasanter when one is lucky in travel companions and the views gorgeous πŸ™‚ I guess that applies to all travel in general!

9. I discovered a side of myself that was not paranoid about sharing personal details with fellowΒ travelersΒ and actually enjoyed the interaction with people I would never have met otherwise πŸ™‚

10. When in need – Ms. Blyton never fails me πŸ™‚

There’s a moment from the wedding I want to share. I had just finished greeting Auntie outside the church while waiting for the bride and groom to arrive, when I heard an urgent, excited voice calling out my name, ‘Harsha? Is that you, Harsha?” and as I turned, I found myself enveloped in a bear hug! It was Reena’s (an old school friend) Mom and she was thrilled to see me and I was happily surprised to see her after all these years, nearly 2 decades! She cupped my face and said the best thing anyone can ever say to a woman a certain age – “You are looking so young dear!”, and she obviously meant it πŸ™‚ She looked amazing herself and we went over to meet Uncle who didn’t look a day older than when I saw him last! He then went on to call his daughter, my friend Reena and arrange an impromptu phone conversation! What a wonderful thing to do!Β Moments like these are what Life is all about πŸ™‚

And that’s it for the trip and the wedding. I’ve enjoyed reliving my memories through the blog and I hope you guys have enjoyed reading as much as I the writing πŸ™‚

Now…back to routine…or maybe not…Ishaan starts play-school on Wednesday…should be fun…for us both πŸ˜‰


3 thoughts on “Wedding Tales:Leftovers!

  1. how true your observations are!
    i love random encounters with strangers although like you my core screams ‘paranoia’ but they make for excellent journeys in our sojourns.
    Playschool eh? do update on that! give Ishaan a big kiss from his Aarti Auntie, you must let him know he has an aunt here who’s waiting to learn some cricket from him.
    If all goes well with my house renovation, i hope to make it to your side of the globe at the end of the year. Suresh is all for it, so when we get the dates i’ll keep u informed πŸ˜€

  2. Yooooooohooooo!! Great news for me to be starting my morning with πŸ™‚ Here’s hoping the renovation goes smoothly so we can meet up soon! Let me know if you need any info, any help anything at all πŸ™‚ Oh and cricket lessons will certainly be on the agenda πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

