Drive. Dinner. Mr.Tickles!

The gist of my Saturday!

A glimpse of the Reis Magos fort...

The morning started out with a drive, its been a while since we’ve been on one…and the weather was perfect! Misty, crisp, breezy and a light drizzle. We set of in the direction of Coco Beach…we were in the vicinity for a family gathering on Monday last, and loved the surrounds πŸ™‚ On the way, we stopped at the Reis Magos Fort (Goa has more forts than I had imagined. Apparently the Portuguese were keen fort-builders!), although we didn’t go up and explore it. That’s for another day.

Sea. Sand. Stone.

We did however stop by the road side and feel the breeze in our faces while taking in vistas of a heaving, choppy, Arabian Sea and the Panjim shoreline. At the risk of repeating myself ad nauseum…I must say that Goa in the monsoons is enchantingly beautiful and the air you breathe…words fail me…suffice it to say…I feel ALIVE and it’s a good feeling πŸ™‚

Colorful Sentinel!

We wandered on until we got to Coco beach and there stopped on a narrow road that ran along the bank of the Sinquerim river. It’s an idyllic spot…paddy fields stretching green all around, a temple in the midst of them, standing colorful guard, exuberant greenery bordering the road with tiny yellow and purple wildflowers that seemed to have attracted every butterfly and bee in the neighborhood, a pair of black ducks diving for fish and the river flowing smooth, it’s surface disturbed only by the soft pattering of random raindrops, providing safe harbor for resting fishing boats. Calm. Peaceful. Soothing. I could have stayed there forever…well for a few hours at least…urban soul that I am πŸ˜‰ Ishaan enjoyed too and ran around yelling ‘Butata‘ (his word for Butterfly), trying hard to catch one! All in all…a fabulous morning πŸ™‚

A typical Goan fishing village scene...

In the evening, we had dinner with family @ The Pan Asian Bowl, a restaurant that specializes in South-AsianΒ cuisine, which means it’s got a great Indian-Chinese menu, of which most of my family (those who have good taste ;-)) are die-hard fans! Stuffed ourselves on Malaysian Chicken, which came with delicate rice noodles, fried (heaven!); Shrimp in chilli garlic sauce; Thai-style barbecue chicken; Fish Phoenix (I half expected the fish to rise from it’s sticky, red-brown sauce!); Burnt garlic rice and that old favorite American chopsuey!! Great food and company, a very decent Mojito to go with and an old favorite, a glass of Bailey’s on ice to finish of a fabulous evening πŸ™‚ I wish I had pictures of the food (it was pretty too!), but it disappeared soon enough and I didn’t want any distractions while eating. So maybe next time! We didn’t take Ishaan along, leaving him at home with my Grandma and his Nanny, which brings me to Mr.Tickles πŸ™‚

Enjoying the breeze πŸ™‚

We were back home at 10.30 pm and all seemed quite within. I am disappointed…I hate it when I don’t get to tuck Ishaan in and say goodnight. It leaves me incomplete. I tip-toe to Granny’s room and the lights are out…further sinkage…I nudge the door open an inch and instantly hear, “Mama?” In a flash, he’s in my arms and all is well with the world!! In that moment, I remember Maura’s tag and the question about best compliments received…and I think…this is it,right here! My son gives me my best compliment every time he says Mama πŸ™‚ Lots of kisses and hugs later, the scene shifts upstairs to our bed…and that’s when the tickling starts…he loves being tickled and it’s become part of our bed-time routine πŸ™‚ Then the giggling begins and the sound of his laughter surrounds us. For a good 20 minutes we’re all lost in an orgy of tickling and laughter, until finally, spent, cheeks flushed and eyes shining bright…I hush him and crooning softly, coax him to sleep.

Oh Happy Day πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Drive. Dinner. Mr.Tickles!

  1. Harsha, we still have tickling bouts and Omkaar is now 10!!! “Aai lets play the ticklu game”, is something I still hear, but a lot less now. Enjoy it while it lasts!!!!

  2. Hey Harshatai…

    Loved the last part of your write-up although cannot miss how much you loved about going around…finally, the world just comes to a still-stop when it comes to your baby….same here with me…however angry and impatient I get with my kiddos, finally, if they don’t smile and hug and kiss me when they are off to sleep….I feel incomplete and that’s when I become a monster-mom….practically waking them up and having that little session of just smiles, laughs and loads of happiness in their eyes and my heart…
    Once again, loved the way you play with the words and express your sentiments….and a silent promise to myself…next time I am in Goa, I am gonna try The Pan Asian Bowl and just leave that O’Coquero alone…

    1. Yay Meeta! Am so happy to read your comment here πŸ™‚ Missed your comments for a while during Chaturthi! You are right…I always thought of myself as not the typical maternal kind…but Ishaan has changed all that πŸ™‚ When he laughs…it’s magic as I know you must feel with your two munchkins πŸ™‚

      You MUST try Pan Asian Bowl…it’s got great food and good ambiance. I haven’t been to Coqueiro’s for a long time…so have no clue about it…is it good? You should also try The Upper House in Panjim…very cool!

  3. Hey, I was just passing by & came upon your page.
    Pretty cool blog and I like the pictures – esp. the one w/t of the fishing village. =D
    T.

Leave a Reply

