Of Ticks, Books and Bringing Home Lady!

Shall we begin with the tick? You know you want to! You can’t help wondering what I’ve been up to now πŸ˜›

Here goes…first a little background…

Tuesday evening found me in friend Sushma’s Pediatric Clinic, proof reading the final draft of the Bulletin for the Conference over the weekend. I sat in one of the chairs meant for patients and tried to weed my way through full-stops and commas, while interacting with her patients! If you think this is unusual – it is. But with Sushma, such things don’t matter and since I’ve worked for her before, her patients know me and none of them object to the presence of a second, evidently junior and rather silent doctor, whose main contribution to the proceedings is playing with their children, making them laugh and occasionally offering advice based on my experience with Ishaan. Harmless…that’s what I am or so they think πŸ˜‰

Her last patient is a 12 yr old boy in 8th grade. His right ear is inflamed…angry-red and swollen and he’s shielding it with his hand, in obvious pain. His Mom & Dad are with him, but he refuses to allow Sushma to get anywhere near it. He screams with the vigor and panache of an 8-month-old, which is amusing for about 8 sec, and then just gets annoyingly deafening. His Mom looks sheepish and has no idea of how to control her well-built son, which makes me think she’s had plenty of occasions to! Sushma has no such problems. She’s in full-blown Doctor mode…no let me clarify…she’s in full-blown angry-doctor mode! After rational explanations and pleas fail, she yells at him with as much vigor as he’s got! It’s a shouting match worthy of kings or whoever!Β She asks me to direct the flash-light at his ear and sees a suspicious black dot in its crease. She thinks it’s a tick that’s holding on to his skin and gorging on his blood! I can see his parents looking stunned and rather squeamish at such a possibility. “A tick”, they’re thinking, “Did she just say tick? isn’t that what dogs have?” The boy has powerful lungs and vocal cords! As soon as he sees the forceps in Sushma’s hands, his voice rises to fever-pitch and now he’s thrashing around in the tiny clinic, doing everything he can to keep the ear out of Sushma’s reach. If it wasn’t so awful, it might have been funny. Finally, after a tongue-lashing from Sushma (I’m very impressed with her ‘aggro-persona’! She’s as gentle as a lamb otherwise!), that would put a witch to shame, he settles down gingerly for a moment, just long enough for her to pull out the offending bug with a good yank of the tweezers. We all gaze at the ‘thing’ in awe, except for the boy, who’s back to yelling. She cleans the wound and prescribes medication and sends him on his way with an apology for having yelled at him so bad! I tell him to make sure he boasts of his heroics with his friends in school which brings on a sheepish grin. They leave, happy if rather shocked and we collapse into our chairs. What a case! I wish I had my camera with me, but I didn’t, so you’ll have to make do with this Google picture of what a tick looks like. Unless you have dogs…then you know what one looks like.

 

Bloodsucker!

And so on to books. I have discovered Pseudonymous Bosch and boy am I enjoying myself! He or she (it’s a pseudonym after all!), has written a pentalogy, a series of 5 books, each one based on one of the 5 senses. The idea is intriguing, so are the plots, characters and the writing-style. I read the 3rd book in the series first, enjoyed it and managed to get hold of the first one just yesterday. Am enjoying this one too πŸ™‚ I highly recommend them as fun-reads, although they do have lessons in them, for all those willing to learn πŸ˜‰ More details in later posts.

 

Book 1 in The 'Secret' Series.

And that brings me to the whole point of this post…Lady. The tick and the books were just a clever cover-up, an excuse for an interesting title (something I’ve picked up from PB :P), and to get you hooked so you would read further (who can resist a good tick story?!) πŸ˜‰

We brought Lady home yesterday evening. We’d been waiting for her for a week, eagerly, impatiently. She was waiting for us too, dressed in red satin, like a demure bride, covered from head to toe! I thought it a bit much, but we played along. Hubby and Ishaan then gently unveiled her, trying their best to contain their excitement. And in seconds, she stood revealed in all her splendor with a big silver bow πŸ™‚ I chuckled softly to myself at all the dramatics, and yet I can’t say I didn’t enjoy every moment πŸ˜‰ Our friend then took a picture of us together, and presented us with an instant print. The histrionics continued…I was led to a ‘puja thaly’ withΒ vermilion powder, a few marigolds, incense sticks and a little lamp. Did a little ‘puja’ to ward of the evil eye, broke a coconut for good luck and finally we were ready to leave.

Here’s to Lady…sleek, smooth and suave. Without her, Life in Goa would be unimaginable πŸ™‚

With Lady πŸ˜‰

And now…be honest…how many of you thought lady was a dog?? πŸ˜›

p.s. Now that Lady’s identity has been revealed…I would like to say a big Thank-you to the guys at Honda for their excellent service!!! From the preparations for a ‘puja’, to the photograph; from a ‘Ganesh’ idol on the dashboard to the box of tissue in the back; and from the red satin cover to the box of chocolates for Ishaan…Perfecto! When I think of a second car (you may notice I say when not if ;-)), Honda’s first on the list πŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “Of Ticks, Books and Bringing Home Lady!

  1. Harshatai…you scared me totally…I thought your maid gave a quit and you brought home someone else but than the satin thing confused me….

    Nevertheless, hearty congratulations on your new and proud possession…. I, certainly, deserve a drive in the mean machine…..

    How was Ishaan’s reaction…..must be on cloud 9….a drive to school in the new car….

    Enjoy…..:-)

    1. LOL…thanks Meeta…I had a good laugh picturing a new maid coming home covered in red and me doing a ‘puja’ for the evil eye πŸ˜‰

      Ishaan is OK…he’s too young to know the difference between a new car and an old. As long as he gets his drive, he’s Ok with either πŸ™‚

      You can have a drive any time you want!!

  2. Congratulations to you, Girish and Kallale. Just cannot get myself to call him anything else now. Kallale Pickel it is.

    1. Thanks Wendy! I wonder how many people actually name their cars? My aunt named her first car, a pre-1960 fiat (a model with doors hinged the wrong way), Laxmi (The Goddess of wealth)! Although Laxmi has since been scrapped and is probably part of another car or some such…my aunt remembers her with great love and affection πŸ™‚

    1. Can’t wait for the day Lady is finally a Lab πŸ™‚ This is a Honda City…smaller than the Accord, and so better for congested single lane Goan roads! Also more affordable πŸ˜‰

  3. I loved this….doing Puja of the new maid to ward off evil…..LOLzzzz…. But the fact is, these days, one actually has to do it..cars, you can change and will give the same performance…maids, once trained and grooved into your household, cannot afford to loose….

    Why r we discussing maids here? You enjoy your drives in comfort and luxury now….especially on Goan roads….

Leave a Reply

