NaPoWriMo – Day 6

After a wonderfully Happy Day yesterday, it’s back to routine today! How quickly the wheels turn eh?! Not that I’m complaining – a little routine never hurt anybody and is an excellent way to de-stress after a busy week. Have spent a quiet Saturday at home – lazing around, unwinding, watching TV (haven’t done that in a while!), and playing with the brand new 5-yr-old πŸ˜›

I’m so glad we decided to keep it simple for his Birthday πŸ™‚ He’s rather a chilled out boy even though I don’t often say it out loud (you know what they say – Say it, Jinx it!), and was perfectly happy to have dinner with close family, cut a Batman cake (the one thing he really wanted), and eat as much fish as he could possibly stuff into his mouth at one time πŸ˜› No magicians, no tattoo artists, no theme, no fancy decorations, none of the hype that seems to have taken over the Birthday Business (and that is what it’s become!), these days, certainly here in Mumbai. I did wonder about having the big celebration – we can afford it and it was his 5th Birthday after all, but every conversation I had with him convinced me that if I did go ahead, it would be more because I wanted it than he did. He didn’t care either way except for the Batman cake! In school, they have rules – nothing sweet, just fruits and if one would like to bring gifts for the children, they must be books worth not more than a hundred rupees (aΒ minusculeΒ amount by any standards!). I’ve heard a lot of parents complain but never the children!! They don’t seem to mind at all πŸ™‚

I know, I know…this is supposed to a poetry post πŸ˜› It’s just hard for me to skip the process which led to the thought which led to the poem, you know what I mean? I guess it just got me thinking about what they say, “Be the change you want to see!”Β I’m happy to be taking baby steps along that path πŸ™‚Β And when I remembered this picture I’d taken a couple of years ago – things just felt ordained – you know?!

1-DSC_0457_edited-4

And 3 CHEERS for our Children!! They at least have their priorities right! Now if only they could hold on to them when they become adults πŸ˜›

Have a Happy Sunday People πŸ˜€

8 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Day 6

  1. A friend’s son turned four on April 2, and they had also eschewed a big celebration for the same reason. He also expressed interest only in a Batman cake πŸ˜‰ Kids do a great job of reminding us that the small things are some of the best things.
    Are you sharing your photo/poems on Facebook? They seem like the kind of thing that would be shared a lot – today’s being no exception. I like the way you’ve taken the quote and made it yours. It’s a favorite of mine!

    1. They do don’t they? If only we would really listen! I think kids make excellent teachers πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the idea…my posts are publicised on FB but I haven’t shared the pictures separately, but I think I’ll put them together as a album maybe! I don’t know though – those pics with million likes…they’re really very clever and funny…well some of them πŸ˜› And I want to Thank you for reading Heather…really value your comments πŸ˜€

      1. Aww thanks πŸ™‚ I feel like we’re kindred spirits and would be buddies if we lived even remotely near one another!

        I always share my posts on FB by choosing a photo from the post and then entering the link to the blog as the status. This way my friends can see the photo nice and big, and it’s not so much like an advertisement πŸ™‚

      2. I feel that way too and it’s so surreal you should say ‘kindred spirits’…it’s my favourite phrase from Anne of Green Gables! I’ve been lucky to find more than my fair share πŸ™‚

        I used to do that too…now I just let WP do the publicising. But I’m going to make that album for sure!

      3. I CANNOT BELIEVE you just said Anne of Green Gables!!! That’s exactly where I borrowed that phrase from – and I use it with some regularity. Kindred spirits for sure πŸ˜€

  2. That is wonderful! You have taken some amazing photos as well, they are so lovely, I am quite taken.
    I think most birthday parties, especially at a young age are for the parents, the kids don’t really care! And I think next year I am going to request a batman cake, that sounds like the most important part to me πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks a million Elisa πŸ™‚ And you’re right – parents get so caught up with the organising, I think sometimes we forget what it is we are really celebrating! Simplicity I think is best – certainly worked for me and my nerves and for my son who’s already moved on to the next thing πŸ˜‰

      The cake was YUM!! I think I should post a pic of it…Batman looked cool!!

Leave a Reply

