NaPoWriMo – Day 12

Today’s Haiku is dedicated to my Gran. She will turn 87 on the 28th of this month 🙂 My Gran is a warrior and a survivor. She has lived a tough, hard and ultimately long life and seen tragedy and joy in equal measure, although she sure could have done with less tragedy! We all could have. Still, all in all, a Life well lived; and watching her frail condition now – her tired body and drained soul – perhaps one coming to its logical conclusion. It pains me to write these words but it pains me more to see her reduced to a shadow of her former self – losing her memories and sense of self. She’s fought the hard fight and she’s triumphed and I want her to leave, when she will, in a blaze of Glory! This is my wish. She’s earned it with blood, sweat and tears.

This one is for you Aai…

1-IMG_2550

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Day 12

  1. This is a beautiful tribute to your Gran. And I understand your feelings. When my grandpa was 87, he was hospitalized with pneumonia that took long rounds of antibiotics to recover from. He didn’t think he would outlive the illness, and one night while visiting him, he said his final goodbye to me and my husband, and was peaceful, because he had outlived his siblings and cousins, and most of his friends. Then he lived for five more years, and he was a shell of his former self. I wished for his blaze of glory, too. When your gran says her final goodbyes, I shall wish for her blaze of glory as well.

    1. Thank you Heather. That means a lot to me 🙂

      I just feel like she’s earned it you know? Visits home are always so bittersweet lately…damned if I do and damned if I don’t…sigh…

      1. I think that’s just the way it goes when you live away from your family. The duality of love – those you love the most have the most potential to cause pain.

        I think it’s time for another Monktown Monday already!

Leave a Reply

