NaPoWriMo – Day 13

Still channeling my Gran to some extent! I was thinking about her wedding day – bittersweet like most memories are. She was just 16 years and marrying a man chosen by her parents (in the tradition of the times), and doing so only to humor her Father, who was dying of Leukemia. His last wish was to see his first and beloved daughter settled and I’m glad that he didn’t last long enough to watch her life unravel.

This lotus seemed perfect because my Granny had beautifully delicate skin and the famed peaches and cream complexion, and I can only imagine how stunning she must have been as a blushing bride! She was a beauty and now even through all the ravages of time – she still is 🙂 

1-DSC_0227_edited-1

5 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Day 13

  1. Your flower photos really are lovely!
    I definitely enjoy how you’ve been telling a story and then sharing a poem. I assume they go together, and they’ve made me appreciate your Haikus more. I never did like guessing at what an author meant when a poem could be interpreted so many ways…
    Your Granny seems like she has one heckuva story.

    1. Thanks Heather 🙂 Glad you’re enjoying the Haiku! I’m certainly enjoying the challenge and I keeps me writing coz I’m a notorious slacker most of the time 😛 And like you I like to have a background to a poem so I can get a glimpse of the poet’s perspective. Otherwise it’s just a free for all isn’t it?!

      And you’re right again – a heckuva life is completely spot on!

  2. That’s a beautiful lotus – thought they could only be white… thank you for sharing your Grandma story, I imagine how beautiful she is…

Leave a Reply

